The Autumn of Our Discontent?

I wrote and posted Don’t Piss on My Head and Tell Me that It’s Raining – An Anti-Ode to Trickle Down Economics in May, but I’m reposting it in solidarity with the folks waking up to Occupy America.
Here are some links to the Occupation:  Occupy Together, Occupy Wall Street, Facebook’s Occupy Together, and Facebooks’s Occupy Wall Street. Perhaps this is the autumn of our discontent. Crooks and Liars is raising funds to help feed those with boots on the ground so, if you can’t represent in person, send some love to the folks on the front lines for our future.

Don’t Piss on My Head and Tell Me that It’s Raining – An Anti-Ode to Trickle Down Economics

Been 30 years since Reagan said
That trickling down was the way to head
This nation, shining city on a hill
And still we’re paying that fat bill

Don’t piss on my head and tell me that it’s raining
That voodoo math got zombies parading
Don’t piss on my head and tell me that it’s raining
That rich man’s jive it oughta’ be caving

The Barons laugh up on old Wall Street
They screwed the pooch but made out sweet
Upped their pay while our futures got sold
They lounge in saunas while our kids are cold

Don’t piss on my head and tell me that it’s raining
Folks, it’s way past time for explaining
Don’t piss on my head and tell me that it’s raining
That rich man’s jive it oughta’ be caving

More and more they conglomerate
It’s the working ones they love to hate
Steal our rivers and our trees and our little strips of land
Bundled up in the fists of their greedy hands

Don’t piss on my head and tell me that it’s raining
Our jobs and lives they keep on maiming
Don’t piss on my head and tell me that it’s raining
That rich man’s jive it oughta’ be caving

For years these “pols” they just kept saying
Deficits’ no cause for worry or praying
But once they had their go at vice
They got some religion and we’re paying the price

Don’t piss on my head and tell me that it’s raining
Our patience they just keep on straining
Don’t piss on my head and tell me that it’s raining
That rich man’s jive it oughta’ be caving

Now they’re coming back for our old age funds
My God these ‘garchs are worse than Huns
They want us poor and huddled ‘round a stove
We should have snipped that weasel Rove

Don’t piss on my head and tell me that it’s raining
Our retirement funds they keep on draining
Don’t piss on my head and tell me that it’s raining
That rich man’s jive it oughta’ be caving

Don’t piss on my head and tell me that it’s raining
Don’t piss on my head and tell me that it’s raining
Don’t piss on my head and tell me that it’s raining
That rich man’s jive it oughta’ be caving

Shortlink: http://wp.me/p1tGZT-14w

About noodleepoodlee

I have too many questions and too few answers.
This entry was posted in Citizen Action, Occupy Together, Occupy Wall Street, Odd Songs and Poems, Political Satire & Humor, Politicians, Politics, Ronald Reagan, Satire & Humor, Social Satire & Humor, U.S. Tax Policy, Voting and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

